RSS

So called Coaches

23 May
So called Coaches

So you want to compete right??? First thing is first. Who the heck will I choose a a coach??? Most do not realize the necessary consideration you should take when looking for a coach. I’m going more toward the topic of bad coaches that mislead their clients, put their bodies and lives in jeopardy just to reach a goal in such a short time.
1. Does your coach have certifications or degrees to be in this position??? Don’t be afraid to ask! “Hey, what certifications do you have?” “Where did you get you degree in nutrition?” Anyone can say that they are a coach and can get you to the competition stage body you desire. But do they truly know what they are doing??
2. Okay so you found a coach. Awesome. If you are 12+ weeks out from a show and they are starting you on 2 a day cardio sessions and 1200 calories. RUN. And I mean fast. You will be miserable. Tired. Hungry…the list goes on and on. All for 5 minutes on the stage and a body that you won’t be able to maintain because your metabolism is screwed.

I have touched briefly on my experience in competition prep but just these 2 things alone would have saved me from what I am dealing with now. My body is completely out of whack. No matter what I eat I am completely bloated. I have been bloated for now 12 days and I’m worried the water weight is starting to turn to fat cells. Which I can’t doubt will happen since I was eating under 1200 calories and doing cardio 2 times a day and did prep for 18 weeks.

I was blown away reading an article on an experiment called the Minnesota starvation experiment. The project was done in 1944 to help understand how to rehabilitate WW2 soldiers that were starving. It was a 12 week experiment. Here’s a quote taken from the article:

The men’s resting metabolic rates declined by 40%, their heart volume shrank about 20%, their pulses slowed and their body temperatures dropped. They complained of feeling cold, tired and hungry; having trouble concentrating; of impaired judgment and comprehension; dizzy spells; visual disturbances; ringing in their ears; tingling and numbing of their extremities; stomach aches, body aches and headaches; trouble sleeping; hair thinning; and their skin growing dry and thin. Their sexual function and testes size were reduced and they lost all interest in sex. They had every physical indication of accelerated aging.

They neglected their appearance, became loners and their social and family relationships suffered. They lost their senses of humor, love and compassion. Instead, they became obsessed with food, thinking, talking and reading about it constantly; developed weird eating rituals; began hoarding things; consumed vast amounts of coffee and tea; and chewed gum incessantly (as many as 40 packages a day). Binge eating episodes also became a problem as some of the men were unable to continue to restrict their eating in their hunger.

Sounds oh so similar to pre and post contest. I can tell you every symptom listed. I have and am dealing with right now. It could take weeks or even months for my body to find the set point again. Just ask yourself is it worth it??? If you asked me. I’d say no. But most have to experience for themselves. Just go google “post competition rebound” and read on the many blogs of other women that have experienced the same. 5 mins on stage is not worth it.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 23, 2013 in competition prep

 

Leave a Reply

 
