RSS

Whole 30 recap

26 Aug

20120826-183502.jpg

20120826-183511.jpg

I finished the whole 30 challenge and I couldnt be happier!

For one, I saw the challenge, and knew it would be tough but had no idea how tough it truly was. I was challenge physically AND mentally. Mostly mental. There were good and bad to this challenge. But way more good than bad!

I’ll start with the bad so that I can end on a good note. What was bad about the challenge was the way that I felt to start! I had to remember that my body was going through a detox phase from the bad food that I was eating before starting the challenge, but I seriously felt sick! Almost like I wanted to throw up! I thought for sure I would just quit. Give up. Just say forget it.

The good that I have taken from this challenge is first, I feel great! My body got a chance to reset and have only food in its most natural state. So I no longer had problems with digestion and bloating. Another thing, I was physically seeing myself getting leaner! even others noticed that my body had made changes in such a short time! Lastly, I was challenged mentally! I didn’t realize how often I snacked between meals until now! It’s crazy, those excess calories can add up! The fact that peanut butter was out for whole 30 and that was my biggest weakness, that helped me to control my snacking big time! Since on whole 30 only 3 meals was allowed with a pre and post workout meal, I realized that when I was eating 6 meals a day, my meal portions were too big! another place where calories add up. I am very happy that I did not lose my energy, I still worked out just as hard as I would have before whole 30 and never felt like I wanted to pass out. I am sure that the fat helped replace the energy i was used to getting from complex carbs.

What I am taking away from Whole 30

  1. Smaller meal portions eating every 2-3 hours
  2. Incorporating more vegetables and fruit in places of some complex carbs
  3. The benefit of good fat!
  4. No longer addicted to peanut butter
  5. Don’t have to add stevia or any other sweetener to most things
  6. Will never count calories, measure my food, or weight myself again. How I look is way more important. I weighed myself after the challenge and lost 1 pound. I wanted to kick the scale but then I saw the progress I made in my picture and realized the scale is evil!

I am so happy that I completed the challenge and did not give up. I am so very happy with the support that I had from my friends, family, and my social network family! I hope that I did encourage you and can encourage you to take on this challenge. You too, will learn something about yourself. Want to learn more about whole 30, check my previous post or go to whole9life.com

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 26, 2012 in Fitness

 

7 responses to “Whole 30 recap

  1. Kimber

    August 26, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    You look great! I had never heard of the whole 30 before seeing you do it on Instagram. I’m starting on 9/1, but am trying to do paleo this upcoming week.

     
    • fitandsexy

      August 26, 2012 at 7:21 pm

      Thanks girl! You will do well and feel great!

       
  2. Lindsey

    August 26, 2012 at 11:20 pm

    Great job! Now how are you planning on eating that you are done your whole 30? AWESOME pictures !

     
    • fitandsexy

      August 27, 2012 at 7:17 am

      Thank you!! I plan to eat very similar to whole 30 but adding a few things back into my diet!

       
      • Lindsey

        August 27, 2012 at 5:41 pm

        thats exactly what i did! good luck 🙂 and awesome work!

         
  3. Chantell

    September 9, 2012 at 11:36 am

    this is great! I will start this challnge soon, i was thinking about buying a food scale to weigh my food, i noticed you said u wasnt going to do that anymore, if your not going to do it then i can save some money lol.. can u explain why if thats not too much… thanks!

     
    • fitandsexy

      September 9, 2012 at 11:39 am

      I learned…and what you may also learn doing the challenge. If you eat good clean non processes food and listen to your body for hungry/full signs you will be a ok!

       

Leave a Reply

 
